Watch reference: Newcastle, Aston Villa, Celtic, Rangers, Liverpool and among the big decisions | football news

In a special Tuesday edition of Ref Watch, former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher explains the best and worst big decisions in England and Scotland.

Wolverhampton 0-3 Manchester City

Please use Chrome browser for an accessible video player

Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher feels Wolverhampton defender Nathan Collins deserves to be sent off for this challenge over Jack Grealish.

accident: Nathan Collins jumps up in a challenge against Man City’s Jack Grealish, leading his buttons as he hits the England striker with the chest. He showed a direct red card from referee Anthony Taylor.

Dermot says: “I guess very few people think it’s not. [a red card]. I don’t know why he did this challenge, he’s high and dangerous, he caught him above the waist – there’s nothing you can say, it should be a red card.

“To Anthony Taylor’s credit, he recognized it right away, he saw the seriousness of it and issued a red card.”

Does Nathan Collins'  Red card expulsion against Manchester City is similar to Erling Haaland's challenge against Crystal Palace, who was not punished?
picture:
Is Nathan Collins’ red card sent off against Manchester City similar to Erling Haaland’s challenge against Crystal Palace, who was not penalized?

On the similarities to Erling Haaland’s non-punishing high boot against Crystal Palace: “It’s a completely different challenge, it’s there. Collins took the challenge, Haaland went to get the ball – the defender comes into his space, he doesn’t know he’s there, he doesn’t see him.

“Collins knows Grealish is there, he sees him, his buttons are up and they make an impact. It’s just a different challenge – I think Haaland should have gotten a yellow card for setting his foot so high, but not a red.”

“Collins has a duty to take care of his opponent, I hit the buttons in his stomach, and he approached Grealish who was in the opposite direction with Haaland.”

Newcastle 1-1 Bournemouth

Please use Chrome browser for an accessible video player

Ref Watch’s Dermot Gallagher believes the referee made the right call to award a penalty to Newcastle after Jefferson Lerma’s handball.

accident: Kieran Trippier’s cross from the right of Bournemouth hit Jefferson Lerma’s outstretched arm from close range. After a VAR review and a trip to the review monitor, referee Craig Pawson awards a penalty to Newcastle.

Dermot says: “It’s the right decision, the VAR’s decision. From the referee’s position, he has no idea where the ball hit. He doesn’t know if it hit his knee, arm or thigh, but his arms are out. I saw him this year, the moment he is Where you bring out your arms.

“If he hits his front arm, I can understand that he is not given because he is in front of his body, but he hits the outgoing hand. We have seen constantly, if the arms are out, or above the shoulder, he is being punished.

Aston Villa 1-0 Southampton

Please use Chrome browser for an accessible video player

Watch: Highlights from Aston Villa vs Southampton in the English Premier League

accident: Jacob Ramsey, initially in an offside position, Aston Villa’s shot in front of Mohamed Salisu header attempt from Villa’s corner kick. The VAR review considered the midfielder to be in position because Salisu played the ball.

Dermot says: “In the Nations League final, we had a huge fanfare about Kylian Mbappe’s goal and ball play, possession of the ball. The rule was rewritten that if a defender makes a clear attempt to play the ball, whether he controls it or not, you play the attacking player on the other side.

“Salisso goes to clear the ball, at which point it resets. It’s not perfect, but that’s what they have to work with.”

Scottish Premier League: St Mirren 2-0 Celtic

Please use Chrome browser for an accessible video player

Dermot Gallagher said St Mirren’s second goal against Celtic would have been ruled out by VAR to push Jonah Ayunga past Stephen Welch.

accident: St Mirren’s second goal, scored by Jonah Ayunga, was scored despite Celtic goalkeeper’s pleas for Stephen Welch to be pushed by the scorer.

Dermot says: “He’s lucky. He pushes Welch in the back, he pushes him away. Joe Hart has the perfect vision, the one the referee would want. If he had that opinion, I think he’d make a mistake.”

“I think when VAR comes to Scotland it will be ruled out.”

Rangers 2-1 Dundee United

Please use Chrome browser for an accessible video player

Dermot Gallagher believes referee Kevin Clancy was right to dismiss Dundee United’s penalty claims at Ibrox.

accident: Tony Watt and Borna Parisic compete in a chase for a ball in Rangers’ box, before the Dundee United striker ends up on the ground demanding a penalty, which was not awarded.

Dermot says: “I think it’s not a penalty. He goes in, it’s a clumsy thing, but I don’t think he cuts it. They come together, and at that point he drops, but they are side by side.”

accident: Owner Tillman chases Jimmy McGrath’s run into the Rangers box and sets foot in the Dundee United man’s race. McGrath falls to the ground, but the referee signals a goal kick.

Dermot says: “I think that’s definitely not a penalty. If you watch, he goes in, the players get together, but for me – no penalty. I think he gets the ball, that’s the key.”

Hibs 3-1 Aberdeen

Please use Chrome browser for an accessible video player

Dermot Gallagher says VAR would have awarded Hibernian a penalty for handball by Ross McCurry and analyzes Liam Skilles’ red card

accident: A long free kick in the Aberdeen area hit Ross McCurry’s outstretched arm in the penalty area. Despite the protests of the owners of the land, the referee gave a corner kick.

Dermot says: “He doesn’t mean to do that. He goes to head the ball, there’s no doubt about that. His arm is outstretched and I think if that went to the VAR in England it would always be given as a penalty.

accident: Hibs were awarded a penalty just before halftime when Liam Scales pulled Ryan Porteous into the Aberdeen area, leaving manager Jim Goodwin unhappy when Scales was sent off for a second yellow card, even though his shirt appeared to have been pulled first.

Dermo says: “That’s Jim Goodwin’s argument, but when you look at him [Scales] He stops him until the referee thinks it was a yellow card infraction. In addition to the penalty, he’s already given a yellow card so he should go. Even with the VAR, don’t forget that you can’t get involved with the red card because it’s a second yellow.”

Championship: Watford 2-2 Sunderland

Please use Chrome browser for an accessible video player

Excerpts from the Sky Bet match between Watford and Sunderland

accident: Sunderland coach Tony Mowbray left asking for a penalty after what he feels was pushed behind by Watford’s Hamza Choudary on the Black Cats winger Jack Clarke.

Dermot says: “I think it’s not a penalty either. He feels the player for him, and he throws himself forward. I don’t think that much contact would make the player fall that way – that’s what convinced the referee not to give him a penalty.”

WSL: Liverpool 2-1 Chelsea

Please use Chrome browser for an accessible video player

Katie Stingel equalized from a penalty kick for Liverpool in their match against Chelsea in the English Premier League

accident: The Liverpool Ladies are awarded a penalty when Gili Flaherty throws a long throw into Millie Bright’s outstretched arm from close range.

Dermot says: “This is located in this arc – the hands are up. She will say that it is very close, but the arms are raised. I think it is directly on her arm, but her arms are up. Her argument would be that she is very close, but as we said earlier, the arms were taken out.”

Please use Chrome browser for an accessible video player

Katie Stengel scored again from a penalty kick for Liverpool as they overturned it to beat Chelsea 2-1 in the Women’s Basketball Association.

accident: The Liverpool Ladies get a second penalty kick when Katie Stengel was brought down in the Chelsea area by Qadisha Buchanan, who appears to have gotten the ball rolling in the process.

Dermot says: “Chelsea would argue that they got the ball. They already got the ball, there’s no doubt, but they definitely beat their opponent first, and they get around their opponent. She already got the ball, but it’s a penalty.”