Deciding scenarios, arc and timeline

There are still weeks left to go in the MLB 2022 regular season, but some teams – mainly the Los Angeles Dodgers – are already looking towards October.

The Dodgers snatched their first season-breaking berth on Sunday night. Now the Houston Astros, the New York Mets and the Atlanta Braves, to name a few, are on track to secure their own post-season spots sooner than their peers. Meanwhile, clubs like the Seattle Mariners, Tampa Bay Rays, Philadelphia Phillies and San Diego Padres are vying for the remaining spots.

Besides the division races, there are many more storylines to watch as the regular season ends and October begins, such as Seattle’s attempt to break a 21-year drought, Aaron JudgeThe race to 62 home runs and Albert PujolsThe pursuit of 700 home-based jobs.

Where do the current play-offs stand? What series should you watch out for next week? When do the Dodgers snatch NL West? What does the match schedule look like? We’ve got everything you need to know as the regular season comes to an end.

Main links: ranking | Wild Card Arrangement | A guide for every race (ESPN+)


What are the MLB playoffs for the current month of October as they are now?

American League

Wild Card Tour: (6) Sailors in (3) Guardians, (5) Blue Jays in (4) Rise

ALDS: Mariners/Guardians vs. (2) Yankees, Blue Jays/Rays vs. (1) Astros

National League

Wild Card Tour: (6) Padres in (3) Cardinals, (5) Phillies in (4) Braves

NLDS: Padres/Cardinals vs. (2) Mets, Phillies/Braves vs. (1) Dodgers*

* Earn the playoff berth


Who is in the 2022 MLB Stadium?

Los Angeles Dodgers

The Dodgers became the first team to punch the MLB playoffs of the year — Los Angeles’ 10th consecutive trip to the post-season — by beating the Padres Sunday night, and now they have their sights set on the NL West title.


Who can win next?

Houston Astros

With a comfortable lead over the Seattle Mariners in the AL West race, the Astros are counting down to a fifth straight title.


Next main series

Giants in Braves: September 12-14

With their playoff chances gone, San Francisco will attempt to play a spoiler against the Braves who are in a back-and-forth battle for the top of the NL East standings.

Cubs in the Mets: September 12-14

The Mets regained their strength – and topped the NL East – heading into three games against the Cubs.

Brewers at Cardinals: September 13-14

Two games with the leading Cardinals at NL Central is just the start of the Brewers as they open up a seven-game game against St.


Match schedule

wild card tour
Top three, all matches on the top seed court

First match: Friday 7 October
Game Two: Saturday, October 8th
Third game: Sunday 9 October *

Partition String
top five

ALDS
First match: Tuesday 11 October
Game Two: Thursday, October 13th
Third match: Saturday 15 October
Fourth game: Sunday 16 October *
Fifth game: Monday 17 October *

NLDS
First match: Tuesday 11 October
Game Two: Thursday, October 13th
Third match: Saturday 15 October
Fourth game: Sunday 16 October *
Fifth game: Monday 17 October *

Partition String
top five

ALCS
First match: Wednesday, October 19th
Game Two: Thursday, October 20
Third match: Saturday 22 October
Fourth game: Sunday, October 23
Game 5: Monday, October 24 *
Game 6: Tuesday 25 October *
Game 7: Wednesday 26 October *

NLCS
First match: Tuesday, October 18
Second match: Wednesday, October 19
Third match: Friday, October 21
Fourth match: Saturday 22 October
Game 5: Monday, October 24 *
Game 6: Tuesday 25 October *
Game 7: Wednesday 26 October *

World Championship
best seven

First match: Friday, October 28
Second match: Saturday 29 October
Third game: Monday, October 31
Fourth match: Tuesday, November 1
Fifth Game: Wednesday 2 November *
Game 6: Friday 4 November *
Game 7: Saturday 5 November *

* If necessary